Click to Home

Go To Search
Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Preservation Commission
The Historic Preservation Commission is responsible for conducting studies for the identification, evaluation, registration, and designation of historic landmarks and historic districts.  They proceed at their own initiative or upon petition from any person, agency, or organization; and make recommendations to the State Historic Preservation Officer for the listing of a property on the National Register of Historic Places.  They also review applications for a certificate of appropriateness to alter designated historic landmarks or to alter buildings, structures, objects, and/or sites within a designated historic district. The duties of the Historic Preservation Commission are included in Chapter 2.84 of the Municipal Code.

Commission Members
Name Term Expiration
Eric Stout December 31, 2021
Nathan Wilson December 31, 2021
Cheryl Lockwood December 31, 2021
Douglas Shullaw December 31, 2019
Scott Stefanc December 31, 2019
Mark Tennison, Chairperson December 31, 2020
Janel Campbell December 31, 2020
Bill Akason, Alternate Member
December 31, 2019 
 Vacant, Alternate Member  

  • Dates and times vary; meetings are called as needed.
  • Meetings are held in City Hall at 220 South Market Street in Oskaloosa.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
Most Recent Agenda | View All
Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent Minutes 
View All

Staff Liaison 
Shawn Christ, Development Services Director (641-673-9431)

Interested in being a member of the Historic Preservation Commission?  Fill out an interest form.

Stay ConnectedTwitterFacebook