Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Preservation Commission

 The Historic Preservation Commission is responsible for conducting studies for the identification, evaluation, registration, and designation of historic landmarks and historic districts. They proceed at their own initiative or upon petition from any person, agency, or organization; and make recommendations to the State Historic Preservation Officer for the listing of a property on the National Register of Historic Places. They also review applications for a certificate of appropriateness to alter designated historic landmarks or to alter buildings, structures, objects, and/or sites within a designated historic district. The duties of the Historic Preservation Commission are included in Chapter 2.84 of the Municipal Code.

Commission Members

NameTerm Expiration
Eric StoutDecember 31, 2021
Nathan WilsonDecember 31, 2021
Cheryl LockwoodDecember 31, 2021
Ross KnobbeDecember 31, 2019
Scott StefancDecember 31, 2019
Mark Tennison, ChairpersonDecember 31, 2020
Janel CampbellDecember 31, 2020
Bill Akason, Alternate MemberDecember 31, 2019
Vacant, Alternate Member


  • 12:00 noon; third Friday of the month.  Dates and times may vary.
  • Oskaloosa City Hall, 220 South Market Street, Oskaloosa, IA 52577

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings and minutes are available following Commission approval.

Visit the "Agenda and Minutes" page of this website then scroll to the "Historic Preservation Commission" section to gain access.

Staff Liaison

Mike Flahive, Building Official; 641-673-9431, email Building Official

Interested in being a member of the Historic Preservation Commission? Fill out an interest form.